Ten Federal Engineers Recognized for Prestigious Award

February 8, 2023
Share this article:

Media Release from the Press Room of the National Society of Professional Engineers

  • Release Status: Immediate
  • Contact Name: Sean T. Woods
  • City: Alexandria
  • State: Virginia
  • Date: Monday, February 6, 2023

The United States federal government and military branches rely on engineers to provide cutting edge innovation and expertise in support of their objectives. After a three-year hiatus due to COVID, the Federal Engineer of the Year Award (FEYA) ceremony returns in-person to celebrate and honor the most esteemed engineers in federal service.

The 10 finalists for this year’s award are responsible for implementing high stakes projects around the world. Their collective work includes improving cybersecurity of critical facilities, preventing power outages, enhancing defense weapon systems, repairing infrastructure, developing enhanced metals, optimizing mission logistics, evacuating at-risk Afghan civilians, developing forward-located installation, analyzing marine accidents, spearheading nuclear power plant safety, bolstering defense to deter Russian aggression, and leading construction of overseas military bases.

Presented by the National Society of Professional Engineers, and now in its 44th year, this award is the only one of its kind to solely recognize outstanding engineers employed in the federal government. The FEYA winner will be announced during a luncheon ceremony on February 24 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

This year’s nominees continue the legacy of representing the best and brightest engineers employed in the public sector. The 2023 Federal Engineer of the Year Top 10 finalists are:

  • Stephen Craven, Ph.D., P.E., Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), Power Service Center;
  • Steven C. Dunn, Ph.D., P.E., General Services Administration (GSA), Public Buildings Service;
  • Dustin L. Gooden, P.E, U.S. Department of the Air Force, U.S. Air Force Headquarters, Pentagon;
  • Chad C. Hogan, P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Air Force Material Command;
  • Capt. Jeneé Jagoda, P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Air Force Global Strike Command;
  • Christopher Jankowski, P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Osan Air Base, Republic of Korea;
  • Andrew Lawrence, P.E., U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Coast Guard;
  • Nicholas Melly, P.E., U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research;
  • Brandon Toliver, Ph.D., P.E., U.S. Department of the Air Force, Installation and Mission Support;
  • Brian R. Wybrecht, P.E., U.S. Department of the Army, U.S. Army Europe and Africa.

A panel of judges established by NSPE’s Professional Engineers in Government selects the FEYA winner. Hailing from various federal agencies, departments, and military branches, the nominated engineers are evaluated based on factors such as engineering achievements, education, professional and technical society activities, awards and honors, and civic and humanitarian activities.

Additional Notes: 

Founded in 1934, the National Society of Professional Engineers supports over 500,000 professional engineers, and the public, by fostering licensed professional engineers in service to society, ensuring the public can be confident that engineering decisions affecting their lives are made by qualified and ethically accountable professionals. Through education, licensure advocacy, leadership training, multidisciplinary networking, and outreach, NSPE enhances the image of professional engineers and their ability to ethically and professionally practice engineering. For more information, please visit www.nspe.org.

Share this article:

More Recent Posts


Get news delivered straight to your inbox the day it gets published.

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.