2019 FRWA Conference Recap

2019 FRWA Conference Recap

August 19, 2019
Share this article:


USST Crew at the 2019 FRWA Conference.
USST Crew at the 2019 FRWA Conference.

Another FRWA Conference has come to a close.  This was USST’s 6th year attending the conference, and we enjoyed visiting with customers and friends who stopped by our booth, as well as checking out the Best Tasting Water Contest and industry awards.  If you couldn’t make it, please feel free to reach out with any questions you have or issues you may need to address.  We’re happy to discuss your facility’s needs, help solve a problem, or even chat about your favorite sports team.  Contact us here. See you at next year’s 2020 conference!

Best Tasting Water Contest Results

Judges examining water samples at the 2019 Best Tasting Water Contest.
Judges examining water samples at the 2019 Best Tasting Water Contest.

Utilities from across the state of Florida gathered on August 5-7 at the 2019 FRWA Conference to compete for the title of Best Tasting Water.  The contest first took place in 1989, and contestants are judged on four factors:  taste, odor, color and quench factor. 

When judging the water samples, judges assign each sample a number, and it takes the panel about 30-45 minutes to complete the tastings, make their decisions, assign points, and determine a winner.

This year, the City of Stuart took first place in this year’s contest, making it the third time they have earned the regional title.  They will go on to compete in the 2020 National Rural Water Association’s Water Rally in Washington, D.C. for the prestigious title of Best Tasting Water in America.  Finalists are selected from a preliminary round of judging before advancing to the finals where a panel of experts will choose the winner. We wish the City of Stuart the best of luck as they advance to the next round!

Check out FRWA’s slide show of the 2019 judging process here.

FRWA Award Winners

Industry awards are also given out during the 2019 FRWA Conference, including Manager/Administrator of the Year, Operator of the Year, and System of the Year to name just a few.  All award winners can be viewed in FRWA’s slide show here.

Share this article:

More Recent Posts

Upcoming Events




Get news delivered straight to your inbox the day it gets published.

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.